Our body has two forms, one we know is physical form and the other is cosmic form. The “Aura”, the “life force”, generates this cosmic form. This is also like any other energy. The energy flows throughout our body. When there is any blockage in the energy flow, it leads to illness, health issues, and mental issues.

Lets us see how each chakra is significant for this energy flow and each chakra’s contribution for our well-being.

7 Chakras to heal the body and the mind

1. Sahasrara


This chakra is also known as “Crown Chakra” which actually means “Thousand-Petaled”. It is also the Seventh Primary Chakra, as per tantric yoga traditions.

It helps to quieten the thoughts. It helps to find inner peace, contentment.
Many Yoga postures stimulate this chakra such as Shirshasana, Sarvangasana, Viparita Karani, Shashankasana, etc. There is also a food that stimulates this which is almond milk.

When there is an imbalance in this Chakra then, there is a feeling of insecurity, there is a feeling of obsession, the could also be a feeling of closed-mindedness.

When there is too much energy in this chakra, then there is restlessness and need to do meditation to calm down.

2. Ajna Chakra:

Ajna is the third-eye chakra. It also relates a lot to the subconscious mind. Can be also said that this chakra connects people to their thoughts and intuitions, making them to communicate with the world. According to the tradition of the Hindus, it’s the 6th primary chakra.

The pineal gland is governed by this chakra, although it’s associated with pituitary gland too. The pituitary is the master gland, it controls many body functions including endocrine glands also. Several areas of the body are regulated by pituitary gland as they produce hormones for them.

It is said that this chakra helps in wisdom, understanding, spiritual vision, telepathy, insight and everything. It there is no balance in this chakra, then it can result in judgement issues, lack of discipline, lack of touch with real life, confusion, etc.

3. Vishuddhi Chakra:


Since it is present in the throat region, it is called “Throat Chakra”. It actually represents the “aether” element. Ambara is a deity represented in this region, who has 4 arms with a goad and noose in arms. It is said that this deity dispels fear.

This chakra is for balancing and purification. There are many Yoga postures that stimulate this chakra such as Pranayama, etc.

Since it is at the throat, this chakra helps to remove unwanted things and lets only good positive things to enter the mind. Keeps the mind clean. It cleanses the mind. When this chakra is stimulated well, it increases good qualities in mind such as love, compassion, understanding, mercy, devotion, wisdom, etc.

4. Anahata:


Anahata actually means “Unstuck, Unbeaten or Unhurt”. It is 4th primary chakra. It is also known as the heart chakra. The flower that shows this chakra is “Lotus” has 12 petals. There is an intersection of 2 triangles having a smoky region, symbolically represents the union of man and woman.

There are several postures that stimulate this chakra such as Bakasana, Ustrasana, and Uttanasana. This chakra is for peace of mind and inner fulfillment. It is also the “seat of love”.

When this chakra is stimulated it gives generosity, respect, kindness, self-love, and altruism. In spirituality, it is considered as the ultimate healing force. The gland related to this chakra is “Thymus” gland. It develops at the age of 3.5 to 7 years.

5. Manipura:


Manipura means “Jewel City”. According to Hindu traditions, it is 3rd primary chakra. It is denoted by Sanskrit letters da, dha, na, ta, tha, da, dha, na, ta and tha over 10 petals.

It is just below the navel. It denotes digestion and metabolism. The asanas that stimulate this chakra are Virabhadrasana and Dhanurasana.

This chakra represents heat or fire. So, it presents the energy to balance and strengthen health. When there are energy blockages in this chakra it cold lead to fluctuations in blood pressure, diabetes, circulatory disease, etc. When this chakra is activated it frees us from negative energy and provides vitality.

The jewels represented here are knowledge, bliss, self-confidence, wisdom, clarity etc.

6. Svadhisthana:


Svadhisthana means “One’s own base” in English. In Hindu Tantrism, it is 2nd primary chakra. It is presented by a white lotus having a crescent moon. This actually denotes deity Varuna.

The yoga postures that stimulates this chakra are Balasana, Natarajasana and Parivrtta Trikonasana. When there is a blockage in this chakra it leads to urinary tract infections, impotence, complications in bladder & kidneys, pelvic lower abdominal issues, reproductive issues, etc.

When this chakra is blocked it also shows mental signs like addiction, lack of creative energy and repressed emotions. This chakra helps in movement, procreation, pleasure, relationships, desire, etc.

This chakra also denotes fun, flow and flexibility.

7. Muladhara:


This chakra also is known as “Root Chakra” is denoted by God “Ganesha”. Here a lotus with four petals is symbolised. Each petal is with syllables Vam, Sam, Sam, and Sam. The awakening of Kundalini begins here.

When this chakra is healthy it gives a lot of graceful stability to be peaceful and also calm.

When there is a blockage in this chakra it leads to anxiety, pelvic pain, constipation, depression, weight gain or weight loss and also incontinence. The mental problems which rise are lethargy, manifest intention, not willing to take action, rush without no proper intention, etc.

This chakra is also denoted by mother earth.